Good News And Bad News

So, I’ve got bad news and good news.

The bad news is that the job at the bookstore Van Piere, in Eindhoven, that I talked about in this post, is a no.

I sent my curriculum, as well as an application letter, and I received a very polite response this week, informing me that, as they received a lot of applications, they wouldn’t be able to interview everyone and I was excluded from the interview phase. It’s like The Voice, and I am not going through to the TV shows. Oh, well, c’est la vie and all that…

Because…

The good news is that my application to write to BookRiot has been accepted! 😀

I don’t now if you have heard of the site – here’s a link – but I’ve been following it closely for a while now, especially on Facebook. It’s a site about everything book-related, it’s funny and quirky, and when I saw they were recruiting writers I figured I had nothing to lose. I actually sent my two application texts very close to the date I sent my job application to the bookshop. I’m glad at least one of those worked out in the end.

Of course, the BookRiot thing isn’t a permanent contribution, at least not yet; first I’ll get two texts published as a trial run and, if they get enough visibility, there’s a chance I can contribute to the site on a regular basis.

Apart from this great news, this week was pretty crazy – as in, I should have gotten more sleep than I did – and the heat is slowly killing me. Don’t get me wrong, I love Summer, but when you live pretty much on the rooftop, heat can – and will – be a problem. I got a new fan, that I assembled myself (there were three pieces too many at the end, which are not mentioned in the instructions manual at all and I can’t figure out where they fit, but the fan works nevertheless, so I guess we’re good), and I’ve been eating way too many ice lollies.

Tomorrow I’m heading off to Dusseldorf, in Germany (I swear I live in Belgium, but we’re so close to everything), with a couple of friends to do some shopping, some eating and some walking around.

Carina.

 

Leave a Reply

