Update On Life #2

I just noticed that my last blog post was in… January! Five months flew by on gilded wings without a single word written on here. That’s not to say I haven’t been writing; my Portuguese blog seems to take the most of my attention but, returned from this year’s vacations in Portugal, I figured I’d give this one un update too.

I was in Portugal for two weeks, with a very limited internet connection, so I had plenty of time to catch up on my reading: I took twenty-six books with me, on my Kindle, and I ended up reading eight of those twenty-six. In two weeks, I’d say it’s not a bad mark. Now, back to work, I’ve been trying to get back to my routine as well, spend time with friends and just try to take it easy as well.

I’ve applied for a job at a bookshop. It’s been my favourite place in Eindhoven forever, a bookshop with a little café inside; it’s cosy and quiet and just wonderful. Honestly, it would be the perfect job for me, despite the fact that my Dutch isn’t yet perfect. I still struggle with some very specific vocabulary, but I believe this type of job would be perfect to help me out with that as well. I sent my resume and a solicitation letter, so keep your fingers crossed for me! Maybe after five years living in Belgium – Eindhoven is in The Netherlands, I know, but I live in Belgium, about 40km away from town – I’ll finally get my dream job. I’ll finally get to say, clear and proud: Oh, me? I work in a bookshop. You should come around sometime, it’s a really great place! Dreaming is still free of tax on my book.

I’ve finished my Goodreads challenge for the year. Between books and audiobooks, I managed to get thirty books read in less than half a year. Now I’m up 46 books, and while at first, it was a tie between audiobooks and printed books, that Summer reading put printed books on top. And to think that last year I struggled to get 24 done. I’m not really reading for the challenge, I’ve just come across some great books, but the challenge certainly keeps you focused, and it’s fun to try and excel yourself at this.

Speaking of audiobooks, I’m now listening to a non-fiction book regarding placebos and next on I’ve got a book with writing tips to listen to, which seems quite fitting.

In any case, I’ll try to keep you all up to date on my shenanigans and if you’d like to check some book reviews, in case you’re looking for what to read next, feel free to take a look at my Goodreads page, to the right side of the blog.

Oh, and by the way, I’m making a pallet bed to replace my old bed! I’ll post a DIY tutorial here as soon as I finish it! So far, it’s looking good!

Have a good weekend!

Carina.

One thought on “Update On Life #2

Leave a Reply

